Air Traveler Alert – Challenge-Ridden Passenger Boarding

Why is it that every time I fly, God sees it as an opportunity for book inspiration? No, seriously. Maybe this year, since I’ve already had my share of book flight material things will go smoothly.

Crossing my bunny slippers.

You may think I’m over exaggerating. True, I’ve never crashed. BUT I have a crazy knack for air challenges. Thus my trepidation.

There was the time one of the engines started on fire and they asked us to remain on the plane until they had a chance to look at it. . . REMAIN ON THE PLANE?!

Don’t forget the time I got stranded in Chicago the night before the ACFW Conference in Indianapolis. The stewardess didn’t much care that I had paid to attend a early bird class with JAMES SCOTT BELL! Let’s just say driving from Chicago to Indianapolis in the middle of the night wasn’t my idea of fun, but this was JAMES SCOTT BELL!

Then there was the time that the seat in front of me in the airplane broke, sending a male passenger back into my lap repeatedly. Yep, that was a winner.

Once I thoroughly enjoyed the hilarity of a six foot plus flight attendant trying to give safety instructions with his head at a ninety degree angle because the airline didn’t think it necessary to let him serve on a plane with a taller cabin space. Yes, I was the one choking on my own giggles in economy class.

Apparently car seats are not important enough to show up at the next airport. I’m not sure how we are supposed to get anywhere without them since they are required by law. But I suppose since it has happened to me twice I’m not on the fortunate end of the car seat luggage exchange. The airlines have a whole room full of back-up car seats. Something tells me I’m not the only annoyed parent out there.

Not to mention the sprint from one end of the Detroit airport to another in less than twenty minutes to catch my flight. It’s never a good sign when the check-in staff look at you as if to say, “no roadkill boarding here lady.”

Once I even stood at an airport check-in for over an hour because the staff refused to open since the air company just sold out to a larger airline.

All this to say: AIR TRAVELER ALERT! CHALLENGE-RIDDEN PASSENGER BOARDING!

What is your craziest airline story?

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

6 thoughts on “Air Traveler Alert – Challenge-Ridden Passenger Boarding

  1. I went on a research trip this summer. Getting there was a piece of cake. Getting home was a nightmare!! I’ll bullet it for you.
    -Tuesday- flight from Oklahoma to everywhere cancelled due to storms
    -Wednesday-left my surrey with the fringe on top at 5:30am and flew to Newark, NJ. I am sorry if that sounded like bragging.
    Wednesday-flights from Exotic Newark cancelled due to storms. Got re-booked. Got lied to by United staff member named HESTER. Twirp!! Cried like a pinched baby on the cell to the husband. Got re-booked. Made it to Cleveland. Again, I am NOT trying to brag! Stop with the envy!!!
    -Wednesday night-oooooh lala!! Howard Johnson’s Airport Hotel. At least it had a shower and air conditioning
    -Thursday-Cleveland to Montreal…cancelled. Got re-booked. Cleveland to Toronto, left LATE. Missed connection to Montreal. LOST IT.
    -Thursday night-lovely wonderful Air Canada agent got me on a flight home!!!!
    -Thursday night, like, midnight-9pm flight home delayed, commence smoking half a pack of unfiltered cigarettes. At once.
    -Friday1:40am, plane takes off.
    -Friday-5:30am, crawl into bed and snuggle with hubby.
    -Saturday night-got suitcase that got sent back to Newark . Yes, I complained. No, United didn’t care.

  2. I don’t have a funny story, because I don’t fly anymore if the destination is within 13 hours. Last time I flew I spent at least 10-13 hours in airports.

  3. jackielayton says:

    I don’t have a horror story, but I’m flying American Airlines this week to Dallas. They’ve been on the news about canceling flights because so many pilots are calling in sick. I’m praying I get to Dallas on time.
    Jennifer, I hope nobody has a worse story than you.
    Although Michelle’s fire story is pretty scary.
    P. T., if I lived closer I’d drive too. Next year I will plan to drive to Indy.
    Can’t wait to see you all in Dallas.

Leave a Reply

