The Writer’s Secret Weapon – Hope

When I was a little girl I trusted my Dad with abandon. Every time he walked into  the room I would jump from a chair and expect him to catch me.

It didn’t matter if he was holding a few bags of groceries or something equally heavy. I just jumped. I just trusted. I had hope that my Dad would catch me.

He usually did. There were a few times he couldn’t get there, but that didn’t change my optimism. Hope kept me going when I had a crash landing. Hope sustained me.

Are you sustained by hope? 

As writers we have many rejections and difficulties to overcome. We may have had a crash landing or two, but hope is our secret weapon.

Why?

Hope is the fuel that gets us to pick ourselves up and keep chasing the dream God placed in our hearts. If we hope in ourselves, we will be disappointed. We are human and the task of writing is more than one person can bear alone.

Hope in God. That is what carries us through.

Lamentations 3:21-26 (NIV)

21 Yet this I call to mind
    and therefore I have hope:

22 Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed,
    for his compassions never fail.
23 They are new every morning;
    great is your faithfulness.
24 I say to myself, “The Lord is my portion;
    therefore I will wait for him.”

25 The Lord is good to those whose hope is in him,
    to the one who seeks him;
26 it is good to wait quietly
    for the salvation of the Lord.

How is your hope? Is your secret weapon alive and well? Is it in the hands of God?

With the coming of conference season it is so important to have your hope well placed. Avoid the disillusionment that comes from hoping in yourself, in your own abilities.

Hope in God and His divine plan for your life.

What verses about hope encourage you?

 

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

2 thoughts on “The Writer’s Secret Weapon – Hope

  1. The ones in Lamentations. That and Jeremiah 29:11

Leave a Reply

