Take Me Out To The Ball Game – From The Nose Bleed Section Of Target Field

Heights and I have a long history of terrifying moments.

From the time I put the finishing touches on the outside of our house on a shaky ladder that blew from side to side in the wind.

To the moment I realized my son’s birthday tickets to the Toby Mac concert were two levels higher in the stadium than I thought.

Sometimes, these special death defying moments find me when I least expect them. Like last Saturday night.

My oldest son and I (both skittish about heights) had this amazing opportunity for free tickets to the TWINS game at the new Target Field in Minneapolis, MN. We were pumped.

Our “Circle Me Bert” sign ready to go, we entered the stadium. Hot dog and pretzel prepared, we began the climb to our seats. Only our seats were in the nosebleed section right under the large screen.

If it weren’t for the metal bar in front of our seats, I would have fainted dead away. Yes, I realize that we are not to live in fear, but at the time dying seemed like a real possibility.

I held my hot dog with one hand and that bar with another, sweating bullets by the second. It took my son all of four innings to be waving the Bert Blyleven sign overhead and swaying side to side.

Do you honestly think I could let him have all of the fun? No. But my hand still firmly held onto that bar.

Pushing the boundaries of where the sane feared to tread was an exhilarating experience. So exhilarating that I felt shaky for the next few hours after I got home.

There is something incredible about overcoming your fears even just for one moment in time. Without my son there, I would have stood at a safe distance down below. And missed out on an opportunity to experience life out loud.

Don’t let your fears keep you from your dreams. Live life out loud on the edge of your comfort zone and brace yourself for adventure.

What do you fear?

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

6 thoughts on “Take Me Out To The Ball Game – From The Nose Bleed Section Of Target Field

  1. Gabrielle Meyer says:

    Love it, Michelle! My husband and I love going to Twins games and I’ve wondered what it’s like up there under the mega-screen! Thanks for making it come alive! 🙂 Over coming our fear is essential in accomplishing what God has willed for us to do. So happy you had a good time with your son. Did you get circled by Bert?!?!

  2. Michelle Lim says:

    No…sigh…we didn’t get circled by Bert. A group only five rows down from us did, but you couldn’t see us. It was fun anyway, though.

  3. I think my problem is I fear nothing. lol. Even as a kid, I had to be the one in the top of the tree, on the antsyist (I think that’s a word) horse, anything that was daring. Got me into trouble more times than not. lol

  4. dtopliff says:

    Michelle, it’s probably a setting on my computer, but for the last week when I click on your blog I either get a glimpse of your post that fades to a blank stream, or what shows immediately below now. I do wish to follow. Is anyone else having any problem? Is there a simple adjustment I can make? It’s not happening with any other blogs I’m following. Thanks and blessings, Delores

    • Michelle Lim says:

      Wow…well, I haven’t had any other complaints. I’m not sure of the problem, but I will ask a tech saavy friend and get back to you about it in the next few days. Sorry for the difficulty. Blessings on your week!

Leave a Reply

