Pitching Your Novel At A Conference

I remember the very first time I pitched a novel at a bigger writing conference. It was five years ago at the American Christian Fiction Writers Conference in Minneapolis, MN. I sat across from Tamela Hancock Murray with my knees quaking.

First let me say, what a kind-hearted agent. Tamela made me feel more at ease in spite of my newbie status. She even gave me some tips to help me with future appointments. I did leave that appointment with a request for a proposal and a bit more confidence.

If I knew then, what I know now I could have prepared better for that amazing opportunity. Here are a few tips:

*Dress the part. You are more confident when you look your best. Be professional in your attire for these appointments.

*Know your audience. Take the time before your appointment to do some research on the person you’ve gotten to pitch to. If you find out a bit about them and what they are looking for, it will help you to cater your pitch more specifically and talk intelligently about things they care about.

*Bring A One Page. This is basically a one page document that tells the basics of your book. There are many samples out there on the web. Do some research to find them. I will do a blog on Crafting a One-Page this month.

*Bring A Business Card. Many times an agent or editor is unable to bring lots of papers home with them on the airplane. They may or may not choose to keep your one sheet, but they will likely take a business card.

*Bring a synopsis and sample chapter. Agents and editors don’t typically take these things with them, but they may want to skim through it before determining whether or not to request materials. Be prepared if that is something they want to see.

*Research how to create a pitch. Rachelle Gardner’s Website is a great resource for this or the Books & Such Blog. Ultimately the pitch is what sells your book. Make sure yours is solid.

One place that you can get ready for pitching at conferences is the My Book Therapy Pitch And Scrimmage Workshop:

What are some places you have found great information to get ready to pitch your novel?

(Also, stop by to visit me at http://www.mybooktherapy.com/ where I have a featured flash blog on Brainstorming Peripheral Plot.)

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

9 thoughts on “Pitching Your Novel At A Conference

  1. I’m working on my pitch this morning, so this is great. Thanks Michelle! I look forward to seeing you this September. 😀

  2. Michelle Lim says:

    Oh, don’t you love perfect timing! I will be posting One Page Tips next week. Can’t wait to see you soon!

  3. Great tips, Michelle. I have to create a one-sheet for my new wip…I hope I have the first draft finished by then!

  4. Mary Vee says:

    Thank you Michelle. Great tips. Preparing my pitch is next on my list:)

  5. Melissa Tagg says:

    Hey, I’m a little late in commenting, but I have to echo the plug for the MBT Pitch & Promotion Scrimmage. Absolutely!!

  6. […] Pitching Your Novel At A Conference (Thoughts On Plot) — “Dress the part. You are more confident when you look your best. Be professional in your attire for these appointments.” […]

Leave a Reply

