Seeds of Hope: Guest Author Edie Melson

Today on my blog, I am happy to introduce my friend Edie Melson. Edie is the Social Media Coach at My Book Therapy and a brilliant one at that! Happy to have her here with us today.

~~~~

Edie Melson is a freelance writer and editor with years of experience in the publishing industry. She’s a prolific writer, and has a popular writing blog, The Write Conversation. She’s the co-director of the Blue Ridge Mountains Christian Writers Conference, as well as a popular faculty member at numerous others. She’s also a regular contributor to Novel Rocket, a Writer’s Digest pick for top writing websites.

She currently has two books available, the best selling eBook, Social Media Marketing for Writers, and her latest project, a devotional for those with family members in the military, Fighting Fear: Winning the War at Home When Your Soldier Leaves for Battle. Married 30 years to her high school sweetheart, Kirk, they have raised three sons.

~~~~~~~~~~~

I stared at the letter in my hand, almost unable to comprehend what I read. It was two days before Christmas, 1999. I’d been so sure God had called me to write, specifically to write Bible studies. This particular manuscript had been at the publishers over a year and, until now, I’d only received encouragement about the progress toward my first book contract.

Dear Mrs. Melson, We’re sorry but this manuscript doesn’t fit

 our needs at this time. While it’s a good manuscript, you just 

don’t have the platform needed.

 First came the tears, then anger and frustration. Why had God planted this seed of hope within me only to deny me the opportunity?

 Fast forward to Christmas 2007, the first year our family celebrated Christmas apart. Our oldest was serving as an infantry marine in Iraq. To say it was a tough year is almost a laughable understatement, but we made it through. God brought our son home safe.

Veteran’s Day 2011 was the launch of my book, Fighting Fear: Winning the War atHome When Your Soldier Leaves for Battle. It’s a book that was birthed during the struggles of living with a son at war. God orchestrated an unusual venue for the book launch. It was at a professional hockey game, GreenvilleRoad Warriors. This team has an annual Tribute to the Military and had invited me to be a part of it this year.

For a writer, this was truly a dream come true. During the first intermission, I sat in the darkened convention center with the other fans, while the trailer to my book played on the huge video screens hanging above the ice. And as I was interviewed rink side, I heard the roar of the cheering of the crowd as she announced my son was in the audience.

Without that seed of hope, planted so many years earlier, I’d never have been ready to write this book. Was it worth the wait? You bet it was.

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

9 thoughts on “Seeds of Hope: Guest Author Edie Melson

  1. What a journey, Edie. We’re there with you, and encouraged. Thanks for sharing.

  2. What a perfect post for July 4th! Edie, I had no idea about this novel. Your words and the trailer brought tears to my eyes. I know you as the MBT social media queen and have learned so much from you, but now I feel like I know you on a more personal level. This makes me realize how important it is for us to stand firm in our writing journeys to write those stories that mean so much to us and can bring others hope. Stand proud that you didn’t give up. Well done!

    Michelle — Another great post. Your blog is full of inspiration. Thanks for keeping it alive and fun!

  3. ediemelson says:

    Dee, all of you at MBT have definitely been there with me!
    M, I’m glad I’ve been able to help with social media. My book is a devotional/anthology. Every chapter has stories of how others have dealt with fear while a lived one was at war. The stories come from WWII all the way to the present Afghanistan conflict. There are also devotions in every chapter and those are my story.

  4. Michelle Lim says:

    Edie, Thanks so much for being on my blog today and for the sacrifice you and your family have made for our country!

  5. vondaskelton says:

    Edie, I love your story of how God took you from disappointment to delight with the publication of your latest book. You are an amazing writer and I’m honored to have traveled this road with you.

    Thank you for all you do to help writers become what God has planned for them.

  6. bethkvogt says:

    You are an absolute inspiration to me, Edie, as a writer and as a woman of great faith.

  7. ediemelson says:

    Michelle, thanks for having me today!

Leave a Reply

