Worth Looking Up To – The Mentoring Cycle of Successful Writers

One of my all time favorite writers is Dee Henderson. Reading her O’Malley Series when I was in my teens sparked a love of Romantic Suspense that still lives and breathes in me.

A few months ago, I heard that she is coming out with a new book Full Disclosure in October. Talk about ecstatic! I couldn’t contain my exuberance…told everyone breathing.

You know what I think is really amazing? One of my mentors and friend Susan May Warren said that Dee Henderson encouraged her earlier on her writing journey.

Now, Susan May Warren is mentoring writers all over the country with My Book Therapy. She has trained and brought some coaches on board the My Book Therapy Team and I am so blessed to be part of that amazing team.

The coaches at My Book Therapy encourage and mentor other writers. You can see that the chain of impact from one single act of encouragement on the writing road can mean so much.

Are you worth looking up to? Do you impact other writers around you?

The Mentoring Cycle of Successful Writers:

*Seeking a Mentor. The first stage of the cycle is to seek a qualified and encouraging mentor. This is the person that knows the writing craft better than you and can give you important tips for a successful career. They must believe in you and have an interest in helping you grow as a writer.

This may take some time. Just because someone is published, it doesn’t mean they are the right mentor for you. Consider carefully your choice for this person.

*Being an Encourager. Even before you are ready to be a mentor yourself, you should start encouraging and supporting other writers. Be a sounding board. Learn things together. Build a support system for your writing community.

*Helping A Newbie. This might be your first step in mentoring. Helping someone who is new to writing learn the basics. Sharing resources with them and encouraging them as they grow.

*Mentoring Someone Else. Take an active interest in mentoring someone else. It is amazing what you still can learn from each other. Giving back the things that you have learned is one way of showing appreciation for those who’ve shared with you.

Completing the mentoring cycle of Successful writers has created a community where we all improve and our fiction quality is impacted.

If you look at successful writers, most of them follow this cycle because they realize the importance of community.

What mentors have you found that have helped you on your writing journey?

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

6 thoughts on “Worth Looking Up To – The Mentoring Cycle of Successful Writers

  1. Great post, Michelle! Susan May Warren, Rachel Hauck and you have all mentored me. And I am ever so grateful. In turn I am mentoring some of my crit partners with what I’ve learned from you.

  2. Lisa Jordan says:

    I keep telling Susie and Rachel I wouldn’t be published without them or My Book Therapy. I’ve had a few mentors who have really helped me learn the craft and step up my game.

  3. Michelle Lim says:

    I know how you feel, Lisa! You have been a huge influence in my writing as well as Susie and Rachel and some others. Thanks for giving back and showing a Godly example of what that should look like.

  4. Thanks for writing this post. I have always felt that writers need mentoring to become better at their skill. My mentoring has been online – through Angela Booth’s articles and resources for freelance writers and has proved very valuable and helpful for me.

Leave a Reply

