I’ll Be Jiggered – 5 Character Types To Spice Up Your Novel

Growing up in a pastor’s family I remember lots of different characters that went to our church. They brought a richness and unique flavor to the congregation that made us smile time and again.

One of my favorites was a man named John. John delighted all of us in the congregation with his poems every holiday. John had some developmental challenges, but he understood the importance of a smile and made us all better people just for having known him.

This is one of John’s poems:

Christmas comes but once a year and when it comes it brings great cheer.

Every holiday this poem was revised to fit the holiday with the replacement of one word. Each time John shared this it touched a chord in my heart. John enjoyed each moment and shared that joy with us.

In our novels we have the opportunity to spice things up with a variety of character types. Here are five that make our books much more fun to read:

*Quirky Character- This is the character that everyone in town knows and shakes their head about now and again. Still they love this character because they are unique.

*Information Genius- This character is brilliant about some type of information and will spout facts or know things that others would never think to apply to a situation. (This is particularly helpful in the suspense genre.)

*Comic Relief- This character provides humor throughout the story either by their antics or their dry wit. They are often favorite characters for our readers.

*Cute & Cuddly – This character is either a child or an adorable pet. They bring the awe to the stage with great flourish.

*Town Sage- Someone who has been a pillar of the community, knows everything about it and often has great truth to impart to those who will listen.

What are some character types you like to see in a novel?

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

10 thoughts on “I’ll Be Jiggered – 5 Character Types To Spice Up Your Novel

  1. I like to see a Watson (the Jude Law type) who plays off the brilliant one, but isn’t dumb himself.

  2. Michelle Lim says:

    Oh, that is a clever character type! Thanks for the idea, Pat.

  3. Jan says:

    I loved your post! Do you know of any books that lists a bunch of these?

  4. Melissa Tagg says:

    Quirky and comical, those are my favorites…which I’m sure is no surprise. 🙂

    Through MBT, we’re taught to include a “Voice of Truth”–someone who will speak truth into the hero/heroine’s life throughout the book. I also like “best friend” characters…I usually try to give my main POVs a best friend to play off of during the story.

  5. I agree with Melissa, a best friend character is a great one to add. I love the best friend, they usually make me feel more homey and comfortable while I’m reading.

    I have a few characters in my family that add the spice you suggest above!

  6. Jess Haight says:

    What a great list of characters! There are a lot of characters out there, that is for sure! I love the balloon in the picture that goes along with this post. I want it! 🙂

    I am new here from Linkedin and love the layout of your blog.

Leave a Reply

