Fan Friday Give Away – And 5 Tips To Create Take Away In Your Novel

Today we are having a Fan Friday Give Away while we talk about take away. This week’s Fan Friday Give Away to a commenting fan is Proof  by Jordyn Redwood. The winner will be announced tomorrow in the side bar of my blog.

***

One of the most annoying things on a pesky sort of level is when you go through a fast food drive-thru window and get home with only part of what you ordered.

Happens to me all the time. It’s like they are waiting to see my face and start giggling behind their hands. You’d think I’d wise up, but only about 70% of the time do I remember to double check my bags.

Just like I go to the drive thru and expect to come home with what I ordered, readers buy our books and expect to have something they can take away after they read it.

5 Tips To Create Take Away In Your Novel:

*Give Your Character A Spiritual Truth or Moral Truth They Learn. If you feather it throughout your book with deep point of view, your reader will learn it, too.

*Introduce Your Reader To A New Place. Many of our reader’s like to travel. Learning about a new place through our characters is a fun adventure.

*Introduce Your Reader To A New Occupation. I am always fascinated by jobs I’ve never heard of before or learned about.

*Introduce Your Reader To New Facts. This can be a new type of crime or a different time in history. It’s all about something they learned that they will remember after they have finished reading.

*Introduce Your Reader To A New Way of Approaching Life. If your character deals with life situations in a way that your reader can learn from it will create take away. For example, parenting skills, handling bullying and a wide range of life skills. It can even be a trick for organizing or cooking.

What are some other things you do to create take away in your novel? OR What do you like to take away when you read a novel?

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

14 thoughts on “Fan Friday Give Away – And 5 Tips To Create Take Away In Your Novel

  1. Lisa Jordan says:

    For me, it depends on the genre for my expected takeaway. Sometimes it’s a truth I need to incorporate into my marriage, parenting skills, or spiritual walk. Other times, it’s learning a new fact about life, an occupation or a craft. Story is key for me and being caught up in the characters’ lives so deeply that when the story ends, I’m filled with a mix of satisfaction and disappointment of coming to The End.

  2. jeannemt says:

    It’s always fun to learn about new places. I think one of my favorite take aways is a story that stays with me, one that keeps me thinking and broadens my perspective in some way.

  3. Gabrielle Meyer says:

    I love learning history and trivia through a good fiction story, because you don’t even realize you’re learning something! I also love learning about new occupations and places around the world. I remember reading The Colonel’s Lady by Laura Frantz and being surprised by Kentucky – it wasn’t what I had pictured at all! These are all great points and good to keep in mind while I write.

  4. Michelle Lim says:

    I’m with you Gabrielle! I love learning something new.

  5. when in the uk for the first time , they released the findings of a study on length of life . they have found that ‘curiosity’ is a lifelengthener!
    staying curious about life lengthens our lives..
    so your post today is definitely an encouragement in that direction!
    i’ve loved reading your thoughts and as one who loves to learn, i agree on the results even though i don’t particularly come to a fiction book w/ an expectation other than enjoyment! nonfiction is where i expect certain takeaways…
    TY for an interesting post, Michelle!
    Have a great Friday 🙂

  6. dtopliff says:

    It’s easier in my historical WIP to introduce maybe not new but different ways of doing things–info. on skills pioneers used to insure survival and develop the country–hats off to some of their character-building ingenuity and elbow grease.

  7. Melissa Tagg says:

    This is less-than-profound, but often, I want my readers to take away a good dose of laughter and hopefully a swoon-worthy emotional reaction. I love knowing something I’ve written produced an emotional response. And if it’s laced with spiritual truth, that’s even better!

  8. Michelle Lim says:

    That is an awesome thing to take away from a book! If nothing else, take away joy…LOVE THAT!

  9. I love reading stories set in exotic places…and I hope to take readers on an emotional journey with my characters!

  10. I love the beach and try to place my stories there. But I live in KY and keep reading write what you know.
    I’m unpublished so I’ve used two basic settings for all my stories. I created a NC beach town/island and I use Lexington, KY. I include other locations, but these are my main settings for my stories.
    Location and spiritual thread are two of the main things I remember about a story.
    Thanks for sharing today. I’ll keep your list in mind as I write.

Leave a Reply

