I’m Not Crazy, I’m An Author

This morning I woke up ready to spend the day with my imaginary friends. No, I’m not five. I’m an author.

So, I put on my slippers and did what any self respecting author would do. I went out to the kitchen and opened the refrigerator in search of caffeine and a dose of inspiration.

That’s when I saw the pork chops on the shelf waiting for me to come up with a great recipe for supper. Instead, I imagined what kind of weapon a villain would use to kill a pig.

Not inspired. So, I snagged a Mt. Dew off of the shelf and closed the refrigerator before the beeping noise warned me that time was running out.

I still needed something to eat, so I opened the cereal cabinet. A box of Crispex and Lucky Charms stared back at me. How much did they have to pay that little green man to wear leprechaun clothing? Oh, wait…he’s not my kind of imaginary friend. He’s not real.

A piece of toast would do the trick. I took out the bread and dropped two slices in the toaster. My mom used to warn me not to put a metal knife in the toaster or I would get electrocuted.  Can someone really die like that?

The reason I ask is because one of my characters annoyed me yesterday. Nah. The whole toaster debacle would be anticlimactic in a Romantic Suspense novel unless my villain was involved. Like he is going to sit around waiting for some guy to eat breakfast. Sigh.

Gotta come up with better material. I eat my toast and stare out the back yard into the woods. What would my villain do in my woods? He could have his secret lair among the oaks. I shiver. “Kids?”

“Yes, mom.” They call from the living room.

“Today, I’ll think we will have an inside adventure.” I eye the back woods for any sudden movements.

“Aw, Mom. We want to go outside.”

Tragedy averted, I sit down in front of my screen. That annoying character would bite the dust today in the woods. Then my villain would leave town for a while. My kids have to go outside after all at least by tomorrow.

No. I’m not crazy. I’m an author.

What crazy places does your imagination take you when you are plotting your book?

 

 

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

2 thoughts on “I’m Not Crazy, I’m An Author

  1. Pat Trainum says:

    I’ve not known who I am, been poisoned by my nephew, stolen blind by my partner, locked in my bedroom by my spouse who wants my money…need I go on?

  2. Michelle Lim says:

    LOL! I totally understand. Thanks for sharing, Pat.

Leave a Reply

