Gone Fishing – Finding Your Rhythm of Brilliance As A Writer

Boundary Waters- Fishing For Walleyes With Dad At Age 5

As a girl my dad and I went fishing as often as we could. The delight of dipping my fingers in the water, watching the sun crest the trees and the crisp breeze of the lake made me feel alive.

I haven’t even told you of the big one that got away yet. One such fishing trip my dad and I were bass fishing on a glass top lake. Throwing surface plugs to the weed line.

My plug had just reached the edge of the boat where I lifted it out of the water, when a huge belly flop of wave startled me half out of my wits. (In case you were wondering what happened to them, yes I left that half on the lake that day.)

Big bass? No. Northern? No. Anything with a fin? No.

Right by our boat flopped a very upset otter. We had disturbed his tranquility and he wasn’t going to take it floating down. When my heart rate returned to normal I got to laughing.

You see, I totally relate to that otter. Sometimes you have a rhythm of brilliance to your creativity that you just can’t disturb.

What is a rhythm of brilliance and how do you find yours?

A rhythm of brilliance is simply the kind of things that fuel your creativity and how often you need them to be productive.

Finding the fuel and frequency of that fuel required to be creative is critical to your writing success. If you can’t identify this, you might find yourself staring at a blank page or a page of words to edit and be completely flat.

Tips To Finding Your Rhythm of Brilliance As A Writer:

*Write down the things that make you feel alive and recharged with creativity.

*Categorize them based on availability and impact.

*Analyze the number of times you felt flat in your writing in the last few months.

*Plan time for yourself each day that fuels your creativity in a small way.

*Schedule high impact fuel events at least a few times a month if not every week.

*Protect this time by explaining it to your family.

By finding your rhythm of brilliance as a writer, you will increase your productivity and passion for words as you fuel your creativity.

What fuels your creativity for what you are passionate about?

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

10 thoughts on “Gone Fishing – Finding Your Rhythm of Brilliance As A Writer

  1. A good movie or book usually fuels my creativity. That and brainstorming with a friend!

  2. Michelle Lim says:

    Ah…brainstorming. Something I love. And a good movie or book is great fuel. Thanks for sharing, Pat.

  3. Teresa says:

    I have found when I hit a slump of creativity in my life there is one thing guaranteed to fix it for about 6 months: travel. There is something about new places and experiences that excites my thinking. Even a trip to Green Bay (there is not much there-sorry Packer fans) dug me out of a rut for 9 months.

  4. Michelle Lim says:

    Travel is a great inspiration for new ideas! My favorite trip was to Sanibel, Florida to comb the beaches for shells.

  5. dtopliff says:

    I love the photo and the word photo you provide of those fishing trips–great memories well-told.

  6. Michelle Lim says:

    Thanks, Delores! Glad you stopped by.

  7. How blessed you were, Michelle, to have had these special times with your dad. He was obviously a very special fellow!! (I’ll bet he laughed long and hard at that otter, and enjoyed many retellings of the incident.) This picture of you is adorable!! Thanks for sharing.

    As to what fuels my creativity, I’d probably say: active writing, as in priming the pump. Eventually, the “brilliance” finds its way to the surface (maybe not for as long as I’d like it to, but it will come again if the time/work is put in). Reading a really good book makes me want to reach the same level. (I also find it helpful to reread something decent I’ve written that can remind me I’m a writer and not an impostor.) :<)

    • Michelle Lim says:

      Yes, I was blessed to have great adventures with my family as a kid. I am so with you on the good book…it really inspires brilliance! (Thanks for the compliment on the photo)

  8. Melissa Tagg says:

    I’ve said this before and it’s going to sound really dumb, but a lot of times what fuels my creativity: Gilmore Girls. I don’t know, there is just something about the fast-paced, witty dialogue that gets my brain pinging. If I’m stuck, I stick in a dvd and usually within the first 15 minutes, I’m ready to get to work. Weird, I know!

    But I think the other thing that fuels me, and makes me passionate, is when I read other amazing stories…stories seeped in truth and awesomeness. It makes me hungry to do the same.

  9. Michelle Lim says:

    That’s fabulous, Melissa! Dialogue experts are a great way to fuel the brain. Not weird at all.

Leave a Reply

