Waiting For The Patient Impaired – 5 Tips To Keep Your Sanity While You Wait

Waiting is something I loathe with all of my being. I’m like a little kid staring through the oven window at the batch of rising cookies asking, “Are they done yet?”

So I am quite sure God was chuckling when he gave me the nudge to be a writer. What a better way to practice patience, than to wait on pins and needles for a one in thousand chance to get an agent or land a book contract.

There are days I’m ready to go running stark raving crazy through the house screaming at the top of my lungs and pulling at the roots of my hair. Don’t laugh, I know… you’ve been there too. If not as a writer, at least as a parent or someone waiting for the results of an interview.

Yes, I suppose this makes me all too human to admit it, but I don’t always have the victory over my impatience. I do my best to hide it well…most days.

Since I’ve been in this waiting game long enough to know that a person could really go crazy without a few strategies in place to keep them sane, I’ve developed a checklist of things to do to keep my sanity.

5 Tips To Keep Your Sanity While You Wait:

1. Keep yourself busy. If your mind is occupied with something else, it won’t have time to obsess over the thing you are waiting for. Staring at your box or telephone will not make it easier, you will simply go crazy. Go about your day as you always would, don’t cut short the meaning of each day while waiting for your dream to be realized. A dream is made up of many days of work. Remember this day will bring you one day closer to your dream.

2. Trust that God is in control. We often want to be in charge of our own destiny, but leaving it in God’s hands and trusting Him to look out for our best interests is faith. Choose faith over doubt.

3. Pray For God’s Will. The time spent praying often brings a peace that can only come from being in the presence of God. He knows the steps our lives should take and will be with us each step of the journey.

4. Find A Buddy To Keep You Sane. Sometimes it helps just to let off a bit of steam and share your woes with a friend. Keep it short and sweet, then ask them to help you focus on something else.

5. Lock down the chocolate and junk food. Sometimes when we are stressed we pile on the junk food without even realizing we are doing it. It is an unhealthy habit when you work in a career with a lifetime of waiting moments. Have the munchies? Find the healthiest munchies that you love and stock your cupboards for a time such as this.

What do you do while you are waiting to keep you sane?

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

6 thoughts on “Waiting For The Patient Impaired – 5 Tips To Keep Your Sanity While You Wait

  1. It’s all in God’s timing. It’s all in God’s timing. I just keep repeating that prayer. And remembering I asked God to teach me patience. He has a sense of humor–He gave me a book to write.

  2. Michelle Lim says:

    You are so right, Pat! Congratulations on finaling in the TBL Contest!

  3. Michelle Lim says:

    It is kind of you to say so, Pat. You are such a hard worker with a teachable spirit and mad talent!

  4. Teresa says:

    This seems really trite; but God has taught me to remember “DO WHAT YOU KNOW TO DO NOW”. I have had to practice this through many experiences like waiting for a call for a child to adopt. Often there are some things we would like to have done and out of the way before that prayer is answered; projects we would like completed. This total preparedness comes in really handy when God sends you a whirlwind of answered prayers like a sibling group of 4 kids all at once or a book contract that means a race for a deadline. =)

Leave a Reply

