Writing Is Not A One Person Sport – How To Build Your Writing Team Skills

There is nothing worse than a ball hog. You know, that player on your kid’s ball team that thinks all points scored must go through them. The kid that thinks they can win the game alone.

Sometimes I just want to stand up and shout, “TEAM FOUL!”

There may be a few times when they can, but inevitably they run into times when they can’t be a one kid show.

Writing is much the same way. No, I’m not coming over to your house to help you write your book…sorry. I’m talking about the team of writers around you that support you on your journey.

Even though we write our stories in isolation at times, we will always need someone else to lift us up, hold us accountable, challenge us to excellence and be a writing craft buddy.

It is amazing how easy it is to forget that and sometimes the bridges we burn in being a one writer show are not easily rebuilt.

How can you build your writing team skills?

*Follow the Biblical principal of putting others before yourself.

*Pray for each other each day.

*Be willing to listen to truth, even when it hurts.

*Be willing to speak the truth with kindness.

*ALWAYS have each other’s back.

*All criticism of your close writing team should be given in private, not on the public stage.

*Practice being a better listener.

*Encourage each other by sharing more positives than negatives.

*Maintain a teachable spirit so you will continue to grow.

*Remember you don’t always have to be the expert. Others with less experience than yourself may be strong in different areas than you.

*Never pull a team member down to lift yourself up.

*Rejoice with those that rejoice and weep with those who weep.

*Continue to study the writing craft. If everyone strengthens in different areas, the team will be stronger as a whole.

What are some tips you’ve learned to build team skills in writing or other areas of life?

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

8 thoughts on “Writing Is Not A One Person Sport – How To Build Your Writing Team Skills

  1. What do you mean? You won’t come to my house and help me write my book? I wish. Great post. A critique partner is one of the best things about writing.

  2. Michelle Lim says:

    I agree writing buddies are one of the most fun part of the journey!

  3. dtopliff says:

    Great topic, analogy, pic., and so true. You’re busy and I’m busy, but it would be fun to brainstorm w/ you sometime.

  4. M. Saint-Germain says:

    I loved this! But I struggle with this. Not the part about helping others. I enjoy that. But asking others to help me is tough. Especially if they haven’t asked me back. I don’t want to feel like a ‘user.’ And tooting someone else’s horn is much easier than my own.
    I enjoy your posts, Michelle.

  5. Michelle Lim says:

    Thanks, Michelle. In this writing community we all give back. I don’t mind being asked for help, because I know that those I help will help someone else even if I don’t ask for the return favor. Be confident that others enjoy helping as much as you do.

  6. Another great post, Michelle!! Loved it! I struggle with a part of it too, but not with helping others. I’m more than willing to help when someone asks. My problem is asking for help. Especially when the person, or people I would go to already has enough on their plate already. It’s not as if they need one more thing to do. So I just tend not to ask.

  7. Michelle Lim says:

    We need to trust that our friends will tell us when they just can’t do something. It is such a blessing to give back to others….So gals, ask your friends, expect them to be honest, otherwise they might be missing out on the blessing that God intends for them too.

Leave a Reply

