I Died At Gate B4 – 5 Tips To Pace Yourself on the Writing Journey

On a recent trip through the Detroit airport, I discovered the value of traveling light. My flight flew intoDetroitand was scheduled to transfer to another flight.

 This is relatively harmless. NOT.

If you are me, a flight transfer typically means very little time to reach your connecting flight. Even if the flight is supposed to give me a full hour between, it never seems to work that way.

On one such unfortunate day, my flight landed inDetroit. By the time I had exited the plane and looked up at the clock, I had ten minutes flat to make my boarding time for the next flight.

Well, at least they put the flights close together, right? Assume nothing. My connecting flight was at the opposite end of the airport.

Thus began my frantic sprint down the corridor, pulling my reluctant suitcase as it bobbed off of anything in its path.

Ten minutes isn’t much time when you have to cover more distance than several football fields, especially when you take into account the extra padding around the middle.

I arrived at gate B4, before my flight. And no, I didn’t make that up.

Arrival? Yes.

Signs of life? No.

The truth is that we all have some parts of our journey that we try to sprint from one part of the destination to another only to find out that when we arrive there are no signs of life. Prepare for your writing journey by pacing yourself.

Five Tips to Pacing Yourself on the Writing Journey:

*Realize that the journey is going to take time.

*Allow yourself to enjoy each step of the journey and make mistakes along the way.

*Plan your budget for a long term journey, not a one year sprint.

*Don’t despise the leg of the journey you are on now.

*Be patient with yourself as you learn.

What strategies have you learned to pace yourself on the journey?

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

7 thoughts on “I Died At Gate B4 – 5 Tips To Pace Yourself on the Writing Journey

  1. My strategy is to wait on the Lord. Does that mean I do nothing while I wait? No. It means that I do my part…learn the craft, submit to editors and agents and write, write, write. 🙂

  2. Melissa Tagg says:

    Awesome stuff, Michelle. Way to incorporate the keyword headline as we learned from Edie. 🙂 It was such a blast to see you. You know, Minnesota is not that far from Iowa. Hehehe…we should get together sometime when I’m in the Twin Cities! Oh, and don’t you have relatives near Des Moines, too?

    Anyway, I loved your tips on pacing – especially the one about being patient. Oh, patience… 🙂

  3. Michelle Lim says:

    Thanks, Melissa! Yep, Edie is brilliant!

  4. Thanks, Michelle! I ran the whole way with you. Puff Puff!! (So glad you made it!)

    Thanks for the timely reminders!!

  5. Michelle Lim says:

    Happy to have the company Patti! Blessings on your journey.

  6. […] A year ago last month I took the plunge and started this blog. Since then I’ve blogged topics from “Do You Have What It Takes To Be Chicken?” to “I Died At Gate B4- 5 Tips to Pace Yourself On The Writing Journey.” […]

Leave a Reply

