Are You Rolling Up Your Sleeves?

There are days when I’d like to be a Garfield, sitting around and waiting for my next meal. I get tired of all the stuff that has to be done over and over again.

Some days my laundry screams, my plot revolts, and my kitchen sink looks like a science experiment. Still, God has asked me to be diligent in the things I’m supposed to do.

But the truth is that I need to apply myself on those Garfield days. It’s okay to take a rest sometimes to refuel, but when laziness creeps in after I’m rested up, it’s time to fight that urge and get back at it.

It isn’t easy, but God rewards us when we are faithful in the things he has given us to do.

1 Corinthians 15:58 (NIV)

Therefore, my dear brothers, stand firm.

Let nothing move you.

Always give yourselves fully to the work of the Lord,

because you know that your labor in the Lord

Is not in vain.

When we give of ourselves to do the things that God has asked of us, we are saying that we are committed to using our talents for His purpose. It isn’t always easy. In fact, lots of times it is downright difficult, but God honors our work.

Five tips to get you back on track when you are feeling lazy:

1. Call an accountability partner. This often gets me back on track.

2. Spend some time in prayer and devotions. Remembering the Savior’s sacrifice for us often puts things in perspective.

3.  Work on the project that seems the least daunting or the one you like the most.

4. Create a checklist and eliminate things as they are completed. It is amazing how wonderful it can feel to check something off of your list.

5. Say ten reasons out loud for why you write. This can be inspiring. Remember back to the early days and the new enthusiasm, or a point when you were really excited.

What do you do to get back to the task when the lazy bug tempts you?

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

2 thoughts on “Are You Rolling Up Your Sleeves?

  1. I do the list thingy. There’s just something about marking a job off that list! And I start with what I dread the most. Get it out of the way.

  2. M. Saint-Germain says:

    Have you been reading my mind again? Ugh! I needed these reminders! I like them all. I tend to do the one that I enjoy the most–just to get me through. I had a day like this yesterday. So I stopped everything and wrote a proposal to send to MBT’s monthly challenge–just for something fun and quick to do.

Leave a Reply

