Revenge Of The Hairdo: Beauty From Inside Out

As a preteen one of the most embarrassing things ever to a girl that age, happened to me. Yes, Revenge of the Hairdo!

Laugh if you want. Maybe you can remember a haircut that went horribly wrong from the moment you sat down at the hairdressers.

The worst part was, the name was a ‘permanent’. When the rollers came out and I put my glasses on to look in the mirror, I was horrified that it very well could be permanent.

The hairdresser reassured me that the curls would relax in a few days. If they didn’t I was headed right for Broadway as a brunette stand in for “Annie.”

For the first two days while I waited to wash my hair, I prayed more than most kids do in their entire life. God was merciful.

On the third day I woke up and washed my hair. And would you know it, those curls came right out. Not a hint in sight. My hair was the same board straight it was before I laid down all that money and time.

Those three days I was sure that I was the ugliest girl in the world. It seemed so overwhelmingly devastating, I was ready to move to Zimbabwe…What? It sounds more interesting than Australia.

In all of the drama my parents never thought for one moment of disowning me. They didn’t think I was ugly, because I was their child. No matter what, they loved me.

Sometimes as individuals we feel ugly. Broken and scarred from the journeys of this life. We’ve somehow taught ourselves that the process of being beautiful from the inside out is our responsibility.

IT’S NOT!!!

God accepted us in our worst possible condition and was so excited to call us child. You see, from the very beginning He planned to be the One who created His kind of beauty in us. It doesn’t have to happen this moment, or tomorrow. It happens in His perfect timing.

Ecclesiastes 3: 11 (ASV)

He hath made everything beautiful in its time:

also he hath set eternity in their heart,

yet so that man cannot find out the work that God hath done

from the beginning even to the end.

Let God be the One who takes your imperfections and makes them beautiful in His timing. It isn’t for us to do, but Him.

A song that encourages me is The Sidewalk Prophets  The Words I would Say: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1bItzgw7OAU

When you have feel like you won’t measure up, what verses do you have that encourage you?

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

6 thoughts on “Revenge Of The Hairdo: Beauty From Inside Out

  1. Oh, Michelle, how blessed you were! When I was small, I had Shirley Temple curls but for some reason, my mom let the lady who sold Stanley products (she lived behind us) talk her into giving me a home perm. And believe me, I was Annie! For 6 whole months. And, you’re right. My mom didn’t disown me the whole time. At least not for my hair. lol.
    I am so thankful God is merciful…otherwise I’d be in a lot of trouble. Great post.

  2. dtopliff says:

    I have naturally curly hair When I was 11, my young mom (barely 18 when I was born), wondered what my hair would like if she gave me a Tony Home Permanent. She did; it was curly. I rode my bike maybe 4 miles to my piano lesson. It rained. My hair more than curled. My piano teacher’s elderly mother, from Kentucky, laughed saying, “Law’s a mercy child, you are a pickaninny,” Back home through more rain, we couldn’t get a comb through it. Mom cut all hair off until only 1″ long all over my head. Never again and a failed experiment, but at least Mom knew the answer to her question.

  3. Beth K. Vogt says:

    I think every woman has a failed permanent story — and I also have the “OH MY GOSH, my hair is green!” story. (Won’t go into it here.)
    Listened to the song on YouTube and it encouraged me so, so much.

    Thank you.

Leave a Reply

