Are You A Puddle Jumper?

Kids love mud. If you don’t believe me, just ask any mother and she will concur. I have had my share of puddles and mud adventures in my growing up years.

One story my mother likes to tell happened when I was three years old. My dad pastored in a small town at that time of my life. If any of you out there have been to a small town church, you know what I mean when I say it is an all hands on deck adventure.

One particular Sunday morning my mom was getting my sister and I ready for church. We had to be there early so she could be ready for playing the piano during worship.

We were all dressed in brand new Sunday dresses and my sister and I were a little bit ahead of my mom on the sidewalk. It had rained the night before. That’s right you guessed it.

I saw this giant puddle and it screamed adventure louder than my mother’s voice that called, “No!”

I listened to the scream of course and jumped in the puddle splashing around and getting covered in mud from head to toe…I was pretty short back then.

Needless to say, my mom didn’t find it quite as adventurous as I did. But it is a great story to laugh about now.

When was the last time you puddle jumped?

No, I am not referring to the kind of puddles that pool in the driveway after it rains. I’m talking about the adventures of the writing journey.

Do you jump in with both feet and splash till you are immersed in the experience of each step of the writing journey with joy? Or do you dabble, afraid to jump in with both feet and miss the joy of discovery that you see on a toddler’s face in a puddle.

The puddle jumper takes risks to follow their dreams and although they sometimes fail, they get back up and do it all over again for the love of the adventure.

The puddle dabbler circles the possibility of discovering their dream, but never attain it because they are afraid to commit to it for fear of failure.

The puddle dabbler won’t reach their dream until they take the first jump and the one after that. Find joy in the little things and forget the failures.

Dare To Be A Puddle Jumper:

*Tell five people you are a writer. (Pets don’t count, although you can practice on them.)

*Finish a whole novel.

*Pitch your novel to editors and agents.

*Send out a query letter once your manuscript is finished.

*Enter a contest.

*Dare to be critiqued.

*Commit to learning the craft.

*Look for joy in each day that you are able to reach for your dream.

What have you done to be a Puddle Jumper in your life?

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

8 thoughts on “Are You A Puddle Jumper?

  1. Just sent off my baby to an agent and two editors. And I’m jumping into another book. Starting.Today.Promise.
    Great encouragement today, Michelle.

  2. Michelle Lim says:

    Way to go, Pat!!! Keep Puddling jumping!

  3. Beth K. Vogt says:

    Love the “go ahead, I dare you!” beauty of this post, Michelle!

  4. Lisa Jordan says:

    As a mom and childcare provider, I’ve seen and felt my share of puddles. There’s something fascinating about splashing through the puddles and feeling mud squish between your toes.

    As a writer, puddle jumping became a sporting event in 2009 when I finished up my college degree, entered and finaled in a writing contest, snagged the attention of a well-known publisher and an amazing agent. If I had dipped my toes in, I may not have received those blessings. So glad it was full feet in.

    Great post, Michelle!

  5. Michelle Lim says:

    Your story is inspiring, Lisa! Way to chase your dreams!

  6. territiffany says:

    Thank you for the encouragement:) I’ve puddle jumped quite often with my writing but seems like I can’t anymore so I needed to read this today:)

Leave a Reply

