Guest Author: Jill Elizabeth Nelson

Award-winning author and writing teacher, Jill Elizabeth Nelson, writes what she likes to read—tales of adventure seasoned with romance, humor, and faith. Jill is a popular speaker for conferences, writers groups, library associations, and civic and church groups. She lives in rural Minnesotawith her husband of over 30 years. Visit Jill on the web at: www.jillelizabethnelson.com or look her up on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/JillElizabethNelson.Author  or Twitter @JillElizNelson.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 I write romantic suspense because the genre combines the mystery I love with heart-pounding danger for the hero or heroine. Plus, I can’t seem to write any type of story without some level of romance in it. I don’t do gooey, but I sure do enjoy a poignant touch of relationship drama.

My stories generally also have a touch of humor in them, as well. I consider wisps of comic relief essential to the pacing. And then, of course, there is the faith element.

My faith permeates everything I am and do. In Him I live and move and have my being. Whether folks realize it or not, every writer has a worldview, and that worldview will inevitably be revealed in their writing. The Christian worldview spreads hope and light and life. People are hungry for those things in this increasingly dark world. I’m honored to be called as a novelist for Christ in this day and hour.

 My journey to first novel publication was a long and winding road, or at least it seemed so to me—stretching from the 6th grade, when I first realized I wanted to write books, until 2005 when my children were nearly grown. The years in between were necessary development for me as a writer and a person.

I tried my hand at all kinds of writing throughout high school and college—journalism, poetry, short stories. Then with a degree in Literature and Creative Writing, I married and had four children, and the writing slid to the far back burner, as it should when small children depend on their mama.

The challenges experienced as a wife and mother matured me as a person and a Christian. I believe my dream of becoming a published novelist was fulfilled in precisely God’s perfect timing.

As I mentioned above, my desire to write books came upon me in the sixth grade. I was already an avid reader by then, and my wonderful sixth grade teacher felt the same way about books. She would sit each day at the head of the class and read the most imaginative stories to us.

Somewhere in the process of listening, it dawned on me that I wanted not merely to be the person who received pleasure from a good story; I wanted to be the person who gave that pleasure to others. That year, I penned—er, penciled my first novel. It was more novella length, but at least I finished it. Then I was hooked on writing as much as I had been on reading.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Jill Elizabeth Nelson’s Books:

A romance-shy veterinarian and a widowed health inspector hunt the killer who used mistletoe extract to poison pets and people in a Tennessee mountain town.

Jilted and hurting, Kelly Granger buries her broken heart in her work as a veterinarian battling to save pets from a mysterious illness, while state health inspector Matt Bennett investigates Kelly’s sister’s restaurant for the cause of a fatal poisoning. Kelly faces a vicious dog and even more vicious people to uncover a common denominator between the illnesses. Matt has his hands full proving himself worthy of her trust—and hopefully, her love. But if his investigation sends Kelly’s sister to jail, he’ll never win her heart. Will uncovering the truth cost them more than their romance? Will it cost them their lives?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Would you like your readers to live your stories, not merely read them? Deep Point of View anchors your readers inside the point of view character(s) of your novel. This handbook shows you how to perform the transformation from ordinary narrative to deep narrative in clear, easy-to-master steps. I invite you to sweep your writing to the next level with a technique that creates immediacy and intimacy with your readers and virtually eliminates show/don’t tell issues.

Rivet Your Readers with Deep Point of View is available in Kindle format at http://tinyurl.com/blfwwte and in paperback version at http://tinyurl.com/76rmcnp.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I’ve had the treat of hearing Jill Elizabeth Nelson’s teaching on Deep POV at our MN NICE Local ACFW Chapter Meeting. An amazing wealth of information that helped me on my writing journey. 

Today on my blog I will be giving away one copy of “Rivet Your Readers With Deep Point Of View” by drawing a name from the hat of those who leave comments. 

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

12 thoughts on “Guest Author: Jill Elizabeth Nelson

  1. dtopliff says:

    Great post, journey, and worldview, Jill. I’ve loved hearing you in person & enjoy each of your books I’ve read–need to catch up on your more recent. So glad you’ve put your deep POV insights into book form. Wishing you much more success!

  2. On my way to check out Jill’s book on deep POV. Would love to hear her in person, but Mississippi is so far from Minnesota. :>)
    Great post. Loved learning about Jill’s journey to writing.

  3. Beverly Snyder says:

    Jill, I can’t believe I haven’t read your latest book yet! Guess that just moved to the top of my shopping list. I love your picture posted in this blog. And I loved your comments. You are such a good teacher for writers. Hope you get many opportunities to share your insights and wisdom. Let us know when you will be in the Cities. Blessings, Bev

  4. Leanne Hardy says:

    Michelle, you made some comments on my manuscript about deep POV. Is this the source? I definitely need to win the book. 🙂

  5. Alena T. says:

    I agree with Pat, would love to..but well Texas is a wee bit far!. Thanks for sharing!

  6. Hello, everyone. So good of you to stop by and leave such encouraging notes! I “see” some familiar “faces” here, and some new ones. So happy my comments could be helpful to you. 🙂

  7. Thanks so much for hosting me on your blog, Michelle. Abundant blessings!

  8. I’m so glad I stopped by to read this post. I think I’m too late to win a copy of POV, but I’ll see if Amazon still has some copies. I’ve always loved to read and dream up stories, but my parents pushed me to find a career with a paycheck to help support my family. And that was good advice, but the last few years I’ve devoted myself to writing in any free time I can create.
    Thanks again for this post!
    Jackie

Leave a Reply

