Boats, Neighbors and Faith

Sometimes people bug me. I don’t know about you, but it seems like some individuals are trained to get under my skin. Let’s talk about traffic, need I say more. Or, the guy in the express lane(10 items or less) with like a full cart. Sigh. There just isn’t enough patience in the world sometimes.

I think Jesus knew that I of all people, needed the second of his commandments.

“Love your neighbor as yourself.” Mark 12:31 (NIV)

It seems so simple, I mean how hard can it be to love someone. Look at the obnoxious guy at the office and then tell me that. That’s what I thought. It seems so simple, but really it isn’t. So loving your neighbor might be a bit like eating your peas, you can wrap your head around it, if you’re prayed up.

It’s the end of the verse that leaves me struggling. The whole, “As yourself,” part.

We like ourselves an awful lot sometimes, needing a better boat than the guy next door and wearing the latest fashions. The way I see it, we love ourselves a bit too much.

So, if the verse tells us to love our neighbor like we do our own selves, I just have to ask…Have you bought your neighbor a boat lately? Designer clothes? A new house?

I didn’t think so. Thankfully, God isn’t entirely talking about material possessions. But that is a huge question isn’t it. When was the last time you mowed your neighbor’s grass, or shoveled their walk?

We can’t do everything, but there is room in our lives for more neighborly love.

What are some things you do to “love your neighbor as yourself?”

 

 

 

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

2 thoughts on “Boats, Neighbors and Faith

  1. Each morning between 6 and 7 I deliver two of my neighbors their morning paper. And I often pick up another neighbor in Beauty School because she’s lost her car.

  2. Michelle Lim says:

    That’s a great way to love your neighbor!

Leave a Reply

