Is The Honeymoon Over?

Marriage is a wonderful thing, but maybe not quite as sugar coated as the wedding cake. Sure enough, I got my Prince Charming. Eleven years in love is a long time of happiness, but I’ll never forgot when we got back from our honeymoon.

It was as if I morphed into a totally new Cinderella. One without all of the gushy honey moments and I’m thrilled to make supper days.

I still loved my Prince Charming and he loved me, so why was it so hard to find that girl that hung on his every word and waited by the phone for hours just in case he might call?

Because when love met with the reality check of real life, practicality made room for survival. The amazing thing? Now, I’m glad the honeymoon is over.

Each year my hubby and I grow closer. Each year the word unconditional begins to emerge just a bit more. Each year I get closer to understanding the unconditional love of Christ.

So, how about writing? Is the honeymoon over for you?

About a year ago I hit a bump in my writing road when I met with a reality check. Did I really want to spend all of this time writing, when I might not reach publication for quite a long time, if ever?

Those of you who have dreamed of being a writer all of your life might not relate to this next thought.

For a while there, I really didn’t know. Gasp, you didn’t know if you wanted to write? That’s right. I realized the enormity of the work involved and the challenge to be excellent enough for publication. And I had a whole week of soul searching wonder.

Am I really this committed? Will I publish before I’m eighty? It is worth it?

My final answer was yes, but I didn’t get there right away. When the week was over, it boiled down to one thing…I am called to write.

I thought maybe after praying God would give me this big reassurance that I would get published, or that I was brilliant.

What I got: You are called to write.

I felt like Abraham when he left Ur of the Chaldees. God asked him to follow him without telling him where he was going to lead him. Isn’t that what it’s like to be a writer?

I write because I am called to write and I really do love it. But I don’t know where my writer’s road will lead me. Will I be published? I truly hope so, because as my hubby says, “This is getting to be an expensive hobby.” But even if I don’t, I am writing because I know that is what God wants me to do.

You know what is amazing? I’m glad the honeymoon is over. Because now that my focus is on pleasing God, not the next editor. I have more joy. Do I forget sometimes and take my eyes off of the true focus? All of the time. But I guess that God’s unconditional love will cover that, too.

Is the honeymoon over for you? How do you find the passion to write once the honeymoon is over?

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

14 thoughts on “Is The Honeymoon Over?

  1. Beth K. Vogt says:

    Funny thing, Michelle.
    I came to a point when the honeymoon was most definitely over between me and my writing.
    Burned-out.
    And God used that time to transition me from nonfiction to fiction.
    He transformed a bad thing into something so unexpectedly good.
    I had to admit where I was … and wait on Him.

  2. Michelle Lim says:

    That’s amazing, Beth! And now you have a fiction book coming out soon. What an fantastic tribute to the way God works in our lives.

  3. Romans 12:1-2 Writing is my spiritual service of worship. Whether or not I’m published. Of course I pray I am, but if not…well, it’s not up to me. Great post!

  4. Michelle Lim says:

    Great verses, Pat! Wonderful perspective of the writing life.

  5. I’m so exactly on the same page with you, Michelle!!!! Ditto to everything you said (about writing). ; )

    Thanks!!!

  6. Michelle Lim says:

    So, I am not alone in the universe of, “Am I really that Crazy?” LOL. I love writing, but the call makes it a dream worth chasing. Keep writing, Patti. I look forward to reading your book someday.

  7. I’ve gone through that, although for me, it was more like a writer’s block. I even wrote a poem about it 🙂 and realised then my writer’s block was over at that time. I shifted from fiction (could never finish a story) to non-fiction and haven’t looked back. I just needed to find where I fit in. Blogs were an answer from heaven! A way to write, get published (online) and be seen and get readers. In fact, one of my earliest blogs became a book – and yet that blog had originally begun as an experiment, learning out the WordPress software worked. You just never know where things will lead.

  8. Giora says:

    First, Michelle, congrats for you and your husband getting closer every year and still being in love after 11 years. That’s wonderful. Second, you just have to lower your expectations. Sure, it’s very difficult to get published with a major print publisher. Even if you are a great writer, there are so many writers out there submitting that your chances are low. But there are small book publishers and also self-publishing in print and e-book. You will get published! The only question is in what form and will many readers will buyt it.
    And I see that you are a prolific blogger. You might wish to take some of your best blog entries and send them as short essays to magazines or your local newspapers. Best wishes.

  9. Michelle Lim says:

    Thanks for the tip Giora! Best wishes to you on your journey as well.

  10. Luke Zimmermann says:

    Thanks, Michelle, very interesting. I feel the same. I am sure I am called to write. I have been writing on and off since I was 14 and now I am 54 and I still haven’t had anything published (except one article in a language teaching magazine). People around me often tell me I should get my writing published but most of the time you don’t even get an acknowledgement from a publisher. I have given up and think if the Lord wants my writing out there, He will have to make a way because I am out of ideas (and energy).

    • Michelle Lim says:

      The writer’s journey is certainly a difficult one, but if you feel called to write don’t give up. Write and continue to learn the craft. Go to a conference to get more exposure to publishing possibilities. And keep praying for wisdom. A great place for craft training is My Book Therapy, you learn a ton. I wish you the best!

      • Luke Zimmermann says:

        Thanks but I live in the Middle East and there are no conferences like that here. Anyway, luckily my marriage has been more successful than my writing: 30 years and still in love.
        God bless

  11. Michelle Lim says:

    30 years of marriage…awesome! Wishing you the best on your journey.

Leave a Reply

