Ocean Echoes and Heart Whispers

The wonder of the ocean is something I never seem to lose. How huge it is and yet the Bible says that God holds the oceans in the palm of his hand. How small our problems must seem there too.

Even before I ever visited Florida, I knew the sound of the sea from a shell my teacher brought to share with our class in fifth grade. We all stood in line impatiently waiting for our turn to hear the ocean through the echo of a shell in the middle of a cold Minnesota winter.

When my turn came, I picked up the shell in my hands. The outside was rough and scared by waves, but the inside was shiny and beautiful. I held it to my ear half expecting a sea creature to pop out and bite me, but what happened next changed me forever.

How can such a small thing as hearing the ocean waves echo from a shell in the middle of Minnesota in fifth grade change a person? It made me realize that where you spend your time is the echo of your life.

That shell is a forever reminder of the ocean, whispering it’s wave-like rhythm. In the same way our lives should become the whispers of the Savior. On the outside we are scarred by the waves of life, but on the inside where Christ has worked his miracles we are smooth and beautiful. An echo of the Savior’s heart.

1 Peter 3:15 ESV

But in your hearts honor Christ the Lord as holy, always being prepared to make a defense to anyone who asks you for a reason for the hope that is in you; yet do it with gentleness and respect.

What things have you heard that felt like whispers of the Savior’s heart?

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

4 thoughts on “Ocean Echoes and Heart Whispers

  1. The song of the Mocking bird this morning as I stepped out to pick up the Sunday paper.

  2. Ginger R. Takamiya says:

    Oh, P.T., Yes. I live in the woods so birdsong is something I wake to every morning. I also get to view stars that city folk do not get to see. I am amazed at how rich this world is with the whispers of God. Makes you understand to a greater degree, “They are without excuse…”

    What’s that song? Blessings?
    What if your blessings come through raindrops?
    What if your healing comes through tears?
    What if a thousand sleepless nights are what it takes to know Your here?
    What if trials of this life, are your blessings in disguise?

    I know, that’s not necessarily snowflakes we’re talking about, but God is speaking in all kinds of ways. More than we hear.

  3. Michelle Lim says:

    Oh, I love the sound of birds! The song you are mentioning is one of my all time favorites. It is by Laura Story and called, “Blessings.”

Leave a Reply

