You Don’t Know What You’ve Got Till It’s Gone

Gone are the days of a buck a gallon gasoline, the Mod Squad, milk bottles, Valley Girls, Fame, Leave It To Beaver and Elvis. I don’t know about you, but some things from the past I really miss.

When something I love suddenly disappears from the market I get annoyed, sad and occasionally devastated. Like the time Dee Henderson’s books quit coming out.

We don’t realize what a good thing is sometimes, until it is gone. That’s why eulogies wax eloquent and memorials drag on for days on television shows. We suddenly have discovered how much something meant to us when we have to live without it.

The prodigal son made this same mistake the Bible tells us in Luke 15. He didn’t realize what he had in his family, shelter or wealth until it was gone. Until he was eating the slop he fed to the pigs, he didn’t realize what he was missing.

The strong judge Sampson didn’t realize what he had until it was gone, either. He toyed with the secret of his strength and the Bible says, “He didn’t know the spirit of the Lord had left him.” (Judges 14)

The Roman Officer in charge of Jesus’ execution said, “Surely he was the Son of God.” (Matthew 27:54) The Roman Officer didn’t even realize how important and amazing Jesus was until he died.

What do you have in your life that you would miss if it was gone? Maybe it’s time to recognize the things we love the most. Hold our families close and tell them we love them. Draw closer to our Savior. Its time for a come back.

Some things are so amazing that consumers demand a come back. How about throw back Coke, retouched and color enhanced movie classics and my personal favorite, Dee Henderson’s new book Full Disclosure that is coming out in October.

What do you wish would make a come back?

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

6 thoughts on “You Don’t Know What You’ve Got Till It’s Gone

  1. Pat Trainum says:

    I miss 34 cent a gallon gas! And Dee Henderson’s books…so glad she has a new one coming out! And my ability to focus for longer than 2 seconds. Oh, wait…I never could do that.
    Great post, Michelle!

  2. Michelle Lim says:

    Gas prices have changed so much in my lifetime. Attention span is something I can relate to. So many distractions. And Dee Henderson…well all I can say is Yippee!

  3. Amy Hahn says:

    remember bubs daddy bubble gum? just for my kids to experience the joy…

  4. Love this post, Michelle!! Thanks for reminding us to be thankful for what we have, while we have it.

    Last week I was looking for my aged Amplified Bible. It never did turn up and that caused this self-talk: “What if someone told me I could no longer have the Word of God in my home?” If that ever happens, I would probably risk my life to keep it, and it would be safely hidden away in a spot that would suddenly become Royal. But now, I can get to taking that “right” for granted.

  5. Michelle Lim says:

    What a great reminder of the importance of God’s Word! Thanks, Patti!

Leave a Reply

