Help! My Brain’s Been Hijacked By My Character

Don’t you just love writers? We are a crazy lot with overactive imaginations that make up stories just for the fun of it.

Can you imagine someone asking us, “So what do you do for a living?” And being able to honestly say, “I make up stories and invent people.” Talk about sweet, that momentary expression that crosses their face.

Writing is the life! I mean, in what other profession is it totally normal to hear voices, talk about brain control techniques and fight with imaginary people?

One of my favorite writer moments happened when I walked into a bookstore and told the clerk, “I’d like help finding a book on how to become an assassin.”

Her jaw hit the floor. If I had been ten years younger and a bit more on the lean side, she might have been afraid of me. She led me to the ‘True Crime’ section all the while casting odd glances over her shoulder at me as if I’d start my assassin career with her.

Terrible person that I am, I laughed the whole way home. I mean seriously, I look more like the Pillsbury Dough Boy than an assassin and believe me, I wouldn’t be caught wearing that much white.

Then there’s our rebellious characters. You know, the ones who make us stomp around the house slamming cupboards and telling the dog, “She can’t make me change the ending. I’m putting my foot down.”

I just love it when another author tells me, my character is being so stubborn. It makes me, a plot driven writer, think ‘just tell her to get over herself already.’

But sometimes a pesky character can have us backed into a corner unless we change the whole direction of our novel. So what do we do? Finally, give in to an imaginary person we have created and spend hours more slaving over our manuscript to make the demanded changes.

Yes, us writers are a crazy lot. Good thing we have an excuse to hide behind, or we might find ourselves acquainted with a straight jacket.

What other crazy things does your author’s mind make you do?

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

10 thoughts on “Help! My Brain’s Been Hijacked By My Character

  1. My characters fill my brain up so full, I forget to take my youngest to school and end up at work with him in the backseat saying, “Hey, this isn’t my school, Mom.”

    Oy! 🙂

    Such a funny and TRUE post!

  2. Being a writer has made me buy books on poison, guns, garottes, talk to a fireman about how fast a house would burn…how long would it take for a body to burn…oops that’s probably TMI. lol Great post, Michelle.

  3. This is hilarious, and so true. (You are Bad! LOL)

    I can’t imagine any other “life” being this much fun!!

  4. Michelle Lim says:

    It is the life, isn’t it?

  5. Awesome post, Michelle!! Oh, the things our characters make us do. lol I’ve lost count on how many times I’ve gotten the silent treatment from them because I did something they didn’t like. One of my hero’s even threatened to talk non-stop to me about anything and everything until I changed something he didn’t like. I finally caved after he ended up talking to me during my sisters wedding. lol

  6. Michelle Lim says:

    Gotta love those crazy characters….we’ve created. LOL!

Leave a Reply

