Weekend Warriors

I just can’t do the splits. No matter how many stretches I do, or that I could do the splits as a girl, there is just no way it is happening today. I could force it, ask someone to give me a little push, but all that would do is land me in the doctor’s office in serious pain. He would no doubt prescribe crazy meds to go with the pain pills.

A physical therapy friend once told me that she sees a boat load of weekend warriors. You know, the ones who think they can do all the stuff they did when they were 20, except now they are 50 and 50 pounds heavier. They didn’t know their own limitations, or they didn’t want anyone else to know they couldn’t do what they used to.

The quest to be super human isn’t new. Still, it is the reason I sign up for fifty different things, try to be super mom for my kids, aspire to Paula Dean’s level of cooking and determine that the book I’m writing will be brilliantly published as a New York Times Best Seller.

This all feels possible until about 9 a.m. when I realize that we had cereal for breakfast, I don’t have a shirt that matches my pants because the laundry is backed up, I forgot to buy the right ingredients for supper, and I can’t even figure out what I want to name my hero.

Sometimes we try too hard to be weekend warriors in everyday life. The disappointment and guilt for failing to reach our goals can be crippling.

“My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.”   2 Corinthians 12:9                                                                                                                                                                                                                  

Somehow we think we need to be strong, superhuman. Truth is, we aren’t God. We can’t be God. We try so hard to be powerful on our own, but God’s power ‘is made perfect in weakness.”

Do we need to make the effort to be God’s light and a good example for our families and friends? Yes. But superhuman power isn’t what we really need. We need supernatural power. The kind of power that God makes perfect in our weakness.

Have you ever tried to be a weekend warrior? What do you most struggle with to let God’s power be perfect in your weakness?

 

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

4 thoughts on “Weekend Warriors

  1. The I-can-do-it-myself syndrome. Always independent and the one everyone else relies on, it is very hard sometimes for me to let God do it. I so want to help him. As if..great post, Michelle!

    ptbradley.com/post

  2. Rich Kenney says:

    I think you have kind of a supernatural power in your thinking about God. Nice post!

Leave a Reply

