The Grass Is Always Greener On The Published Side

The grass is always greener on the published side. That’s what us unpublished writers sometimes think. We stand at the fence line pining over the contract on the other side, feeling as if where we are isn’t sufficient.

We tell ourselves that God gave me this dream to be a writer, so I should get a contract soon. We focus on the end game, wanting that all illusive piece of paper that gives us legitimacy. As if the day we get our first contract we have arrived.

I have celebrated with a few of my friends who are recently published. They are excited and living in a dream world, until there is that moment when things start to get so busy it is hard to catch up.

My published friends have often said, “Enjoy it while you don’t have any deadlines.” They are enjoying being published, but it comes with lots of deadlines and responsibilities that unpublished writers don’t have to worry about.

Published writers also see that the grass is greener on the best-seller list. I think it is a disease that eats away at our happiness. This whole need to get the next best thing often keeps us from enjoying the place we are in and the fun that we can have right now.

If we let ourselves start down the grass is greener road, we will always be looking for the next best thing, never satisfied with where we are in our writing journey.

The Apostle Paul said, “I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances.” Philippians 4:11(NIV). Paul said this from a spot of persecution. He had at the time already faced ship wreck, hunger, prison, being stoned and beaten. Yet, in all of this Paul said he could be content no matter what the circumstances.

I don’t know about you, but that makes me want to sit down and get a grip on my griping. I am not dealing with anywhere near the hardship Paul faced on his journey. Maybe I should just be happy I’m a writer and not an apostle during the time of Paul.

Have you ever struggled with the grass is always greener? What did you do to refocused your life?

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

6 thoughts on “The Grass Is Always Greener On The Published Side

  1. Oh, yes…and I truly celebrate each every of my writer friends who gets a publishing contract or an agent. I would never want their contract, but a little bitty part of me wants one, too. Well, not a little bitty part. lol I want their problems…deadlines….marketing…at least I do on this side of the fence. Great post, Michelle!

  2. Oh, what do I do about it? Like Paul, I’ve learned to be content in whatever situation I’m in. God knows my heart’s desires. And I know it’s all about His timing.

  3. Michelle Lim says:

    I have to remind myself to be patient sometimes. Glad that you are able to enjoy these moments, too.

  4. rand2423 says:

    I’ve heard this before–enjoy the journey now because once you’re published it gets crazy and you have more deadlines. That makes me nervous. I’m self-motivated but I also have family members who need me–and sometimes it’s when I least expect it. Crisis moments can’t be planned. I want to be available. So, for now, I’m enjoying the “writing ride” on my time.
    Michelle

Leave a Reply

