Prince Charming, Buses And BonBons

              

When I was single, I used to think Mr. Right got hit by a bus. After all, he was nowhere to be found. I remember while I waited for my Prince Charming Valentine’s Day wasn’t all that fun. All my married friends had flowers, or a special night out. I had “Princess Bride” and Ben & Jerry’s.

Now that I’m married to my Prince Charming, I realize that life isn’t quite as perfect as I thought it was back in my single days. Chocolates and roses are often part of my Valentine’s Day, but getting a sitter and having the cash flow for the perfect night out isn’t always as easy as it looks.

Still, my Prince Charming is the one I want to share each moment  of my life.

Valentine’s Day can be a sweet reminder of the love we share with our sweetheart, but what about the those who are unvalentined? Single, widowed, or a soldier’s family. To them Valentine’s Day can be a reminder of being alone. Alone on a holiday that is all about being loved.

Its time for those of us who have Valentines to remember that Valentine’s Day is about love, not just romance. Love like our Heavenly Father showed us. Love that sought us out when we were alone and reminded us that we were loved.

“My command is this: Love each other as I have loved you.”  John 15:12(NIV)

If you are Valentined this year, look for someone who really is feeling alone. Perhaps they have a loved one in the service, they are unattached romantically, their parent or spouse has recently died or they have a family member who is critically ill.

Find a way to show them they are loved. Sharing God’s love can be as simple as a phone call, a card, chocolates, flowers, preparing a meal or helping them shovel their driveway.

This year let’s find a way to make sure that no one is unvalentined. Jesus did the same for us when he died on the cross. Valentine someone unvalentined and you will be sharing God’s love with someone who really needs the reminder.

What are some ideas for making someone feel loved today that might be feeling alone?


About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

10 thoughts on “Prince Charming, Buses And BonBons

  1. Thank you for reminding me I need to do something to lift a friend’s spirits! Calling her now to see if she’d like to go out for lunch…my treat. Great post, Michelle!

  2. Michelle Lim says:

    Oh, so glad to hear it! She will love it.

  3. bethkvogt says:

    Thank you for this loving reminder to think of everyone on this day, Michelle.

  4. Amy Hahn says:

    Nice reminder Michelle…gonna call some of my un-valentined friends in a bit.

  5. Melissa Tagg says:

    Great post, Michelle! And something good to keep in mind throughout the year, not only on Valentine’s Day!

  6. Michelle Lim says:

    You are so right! Did you know that the Bible talks about helping widows and orphans over 40 times in Scripture? We do need to reach out with the Love of God always. Great reminder.

  7. Stacy says:

    Lovely reminder for us to reach out to the “unvalentined” (never heard that phrase before)! Thanks for a nice blog, Michelle.

Leave a Reply

