Superhero Identity Crisis

When I had my first child I went through childbirth classes determined to be prepared, what I really should have signed up for was Super Mom classes. All that attention is focused on how to bring a baby into the world, but seriously that takes like nine hours. The rest of their lives takes years.

By the time I was home for twenty-four hours I knew that I had absolutely no clue how to be a parent. It just wasn’t the same as babysitting. What if I messed things up and my child never lived up to their potential, or survived past middle school?

So what did I do? After my second child, I quit my day job. I know. I know. They always say, “Don’t quit your day job.” But these are the same people that forgot to offer Super Mom classes at my local hospital. What did they know anyway?

Somewhere along the way I realized that my kids wouldn’t  be perfect and I would make mistakes, but Super Mom doesn’t wear a cape. She packs a ‘To Do’ list and a calendar and her purse is a survival kit for every crisis. It isn’t about being super human. It is about packing the right tools.

As writers we often try to wear a cape and tights, but we don’t realize that they might get stuck in our office chair. Seriously, in our efforts to be superhuman we set ourselves up for major disappointment.

How can we accomplish Super Writer tasks without a cape?

*Realize that our ability to do incredible things comes from God. If we don’t put God first in the equation, we will wear ourselves out with our own efforts to be super human.

“I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength.” Phil. 1:13(NIV)

*Pack the right tools. When it is time to write, have the right tools at your fingertips. Some of my personal favorites: writing craft books, plotting & character journey information, mood music and chocolate.

*Set Up A Calendar. Make a calendar that has tasks listed by dates. This will free you from worrying about what is next. Your job that day is only what is in that date box.

*Create A ‘To Do’ List. Post it where you can see it and cross things off when they are completed. It will eliminate that feeling of a lose end that you can’t put your finger on.

*Mainstream Task Days. As writers we have many responsibilities. Pick one day to work on Marketing for the week. Compartmentalize the types of tasks you do into one day so you are more focused. It eliminates wasted transition time.

*Get Help. If you have deadlines that feel impossible to meet, ask your family to pitch in. Let them be part of your success and celebrate it together.

*Say No. Watch the patterns of time in which you get overwhelmed. If you are overwhelmed during contest season, say no to some of the other things that are extras. You can always do those things during slower seasons.

What are some strategies you use to help you overcome a Super Writer Crisis? Or A Super Mom Crisis?

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

6 thoughts on “Superhero Identity Crisis

  1. bethkvogt says:

    Great tips, Michelle.
    I have to remember to take care of myself — take time to exercise, to eat decently, get out of my office and go for a walk. As much as writing is butt-in-chair, sometimes I need to pry myself outta’ said chair and make sure I stay healthy. Lying on the couch with a heating pad because my back is in spasm can wreck my goal for meeting a deadline.

  2. Great tips, Michelle. And Beth you are so right, but so many times lately it’s so hard to make myself exercise.

  3. Michelle Lim says:

    I know what you mean, Pat. It takes discipline to hit the gym.

  4. Ooh, I love this List, Michelle! There are such helpful ideas here! I will definitely be working on some of these things this week. And will exercise (almost) every day, so I don’t end up with back spasms either. (I did them this morning but might have to miss tomorrow as I have an early morning appt. to get my teeth cleaned.)

    Thanks for a great post!!

  5. Michelle Lim says:

    Glad you stopped by Patti and that the tips were helpful. Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

