A Writer’s Life In View of Minnehaha Falls, Minnesota

There are so many things about Minnesota that I love. Even our waterfalls freeze around the edges. Those of you who hale from warmer places may shake your head and wonder at my willingness to tolerate thirty degrees below zero several days out of the year, but I have just one word for you: BUGS! You see, ours are much smaller. Okay, so maybe they got smart and moved south, but you won’t get me complaining.

Minnesota is where I grew up and I love it! It isn’t the frozen winters, that is for sure. It isn’t the obnoxious summer mosquitoes, or even the Vikings (Go Purple…A girl can still hope). No, it is family, beauty and the ten thousand lakes that I haven’t fished in all of yet. It is the comfort I draw from the tranquility of nature on summer canoe trips. It is the place where my inner writer finds quiet.

In all the chaos of everyday life, we all need to find that slice of peace that calms us. It helps us to find our creativity and reprioritize the hectic cycle life can become.

“Be still and know that I am God.” Psalm 46:10

For me, sitting still requires effort. Chasing four rambunctious kids, cooking meals, volunteering at church, writing and somehow finding time to eat chocolate takes almost every spare moving moment I have in a day. It is so easy to keep the hamster wheel rolling with just enough momentum to never stop.

So, how do you know that it’s time to find a place of calm?

*You use the old adage, ‘The dog ate my manuscript’ as an excuse for missing your editor’s deadline.

*You show up at the dentist’s office for an appointment only to discover it was last Thursday, not this Thursday.

*You put supper in the oven, but forgot to turn it on.

*You send your child on the wrong day for kindergarten.

*Your Sunday school class corrects you during the Bible story three times, because you are trying to clear your inbox on your smart phone. (You know, just because it says it is a smart phone, doesn’t mean the user is…okay, you get my meaning.)

*Your spouse asks you to help them find matching clothes and you match plaid to polka dots.

*You mailed the rent check one week too early. One week before your paycheck.

*You text your grocery list to your agent, instead of your spouse.

If you turned a slight pink color at any of the above signs, it is definitely time for a few minutes of calm. What is the craziest thing you or someone you know has done when they are overwhelmed?

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

4 thoughts on “A Writer’s Life In View of Minnehaha Falls, Minnesota

  1. Once I was rushing around trying to get supper started, clothes out of the dryer before leaving for my massage appointment. Finally! I was on the table drifting off into lala land as she kneaded my shoulder muscles. Ahhhhhh became Oh, No! I forgot to turn off my beans. I jumped off the table, raced across town, got caught by a train and turned onto my street fully expecting to see fire trucks sitting in my drive. Thank goodness I only had a ruined pan, smoke-filled house and one very traumatized cat.

  2. Michelle Lim says:

    Glad that didn’t turn out tragic, but I’m sorry for the cat. I can relate. One time I feel asleep and melted an entire pan full of bottles I was boiling. Our house smelled like melted plastic for a week.

  3. Teresa says:

    One time when I was doing daycare and cooking lunch I was a bit distracted by the stress of the day. I took a glass pan full of brownies out of the oven and sat it on a burner on top of the stove. Unfortunately I sat it on a burner that I had forgotten to turn off. A few minutes later the glass pan exploded sending shards of hot glass everywhere. Although hot glass shards burnt holes in my linoleum; miraculously no one was hurt.

  4. Michelle Lim says:

    That is truly a blessing that no one was hurt! God bulletproofs our mistakes sometimes.

Leave a Reply

