American Idol Friends

How many of you have watched American Idol and seen the crazy auditions? You know, the ones where they believe they will be the next superstar. Their friends even told them they are amazing. Still the audience is searching for their earplugs.

Every time I see them crash and burn, I think to myself, ‘they need to get better friends.’ Who would let a friend embarrass themselves on national television, without giving them a moment of truth?

The world is full of these kinds of friends. They tell you what you want to hear because it is the easier path. They don’t want to offend or hurt you. What hurts more, being the butt of every American household joke for a year, or hearing your friend say, this might not be your thing?

I’ve been there. Had that moment where a friend asked me my opinion and sometimes I told them what they wanted to hear, thinking it would encourage them. After watching American Idol, I have determined to be more genuine in my friendships. The friends I seek and the friend I have become. It all goes back to the book that gives us the greatest wisdom.

What does the Bible say about friendship?

*Friends tell the truth in love. They are honest with each other because it helps them focus on the things that are important.

“Faithful are the wounds of a friend, but the kisses of an enemy are deceitful.”

                      Proverbs 27:6 (NIV)

*Friends Make Each Other Stronger. They advise, lead by example and rub off the rough edges of our character.

“Iron sharpens iron, and one man sharpens another”

Proverbs 27:17

*Friends Love Unconditionally. They stay by our side, no matter what comes. Job’s friends sat with him in sack cloth and commiserated with him. Maybe their advice could have been stronger, but they never left him.

“A friend loveth at all times, and a brother is born of adversity.”

Proverbs 17:17(NIV)

*A Person is known by the company they keep. Surround yourself with wise friends and you will make better choices in life. Surround yourself with ‘yes’ friends and you will find yourself standing in the front of the microphone with no talent at all.

“Whoever walks with the wise becomes wise,

but the companion of fools will suffer harm.

Proverbs 13:12 (NIV)

Friends are a huge part of our lives. They bring encouragement, laughter and truth. Our friends say a lot about us. As a writer, my critique buddies need to be these kinds of friends as well. I am blessed with three amazing critique buddies who cheer me on, set me straight and show they care every day.

What do you look for in a friend?

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

10 thoughts on “American Idol Friends

  1. I think the same thing about Idol. My best friends never make me feel bad about failing, but always give me honest feedback– good or bad.

  2. A friend has your back. They want the best for you and sometimes that means telling you something you don’t want to hear. A friend also tells you when you have spinach dip stuck in your teeth. lol

  3. Michelle Lim says:

    You are so right, Pat. We’ve got to have each other’s back. I like that in friends too.

  4. Amy Hahn says:

    wow…based on my “feelings of the day”…longevity. They have to be in for the LONG haul, so that means honesty, directness and deep compassion. An codependent addiction to coffee and chocolate certainly helps ;)!

  5. Teresa says:

    I love a friend with whom I can share a few “been there done that” experiences yet who also has different strengths and weaknesses than I. This creates an awesome iron sharpening iron relationship where we can both encourage each other to grow just by being ourselves.

  6. bethkvogt says:

    I look for a friend to be trustworthy … and honest … and to have a sense of humor. To me that is the perfect blend of friendship.

Leave a Reply

