‘I Do’ At 30,000 Feet

An age old tradition of finding love and professing your vows at the altar happens every day. Yet, some happy couples are not content to let their day look the same as everyone else’s in a church with the cake and family. They demand a whole new level of extreme that sets their day apart. A lasting memory of commitment and facing your greatest fears. That is the stuff of ‘I Do’ at 30,000 feet.

You’d never catch me jumping from an airplane in a white dress, but I hope my writing smacks of 30,000 feet type original commitment.

Writing a novel is an age old process, but that doesn’t mean it needs to be stodgy or predictable in its delivery. Quite the opposite.

Extreme Novel Writing At Its Best:

*Increase the stakes to extreme. Some author’s have done this by having the heroine marry the handsome prince, or they will lose the family farm. Only at the beginning, they don’t even know if they will love him. Another twist on this would be needing to marry someone to have enough money to save a loved one’s life. Now, it is not just their heart at stake, but their livelihood and family as well.

*Create extreme obstacles. No more, ‘he loves me, he loves me not.’ Avoid the opportunity to dither and build only internal obstacles. Reach out to the external world and pull in obstacles that are out of the hero/heroine’s control.

*Develop Evil Villains. Not just a difficult foe, but one that is nearly impossible to overcome that is truly evil. Give them a den of iniquity. A place they go to reflect on their darkness. To show their cunning. To build the danger.

*Build Larger Than Life Characters. They leap off of the page with originality of dialogue and unique qualities. Make the character change an intense journey that interacts with their personality to make the change more complicated and profound. Have them make unexpected choices.

Strap on your gear. Be ready for the dive. Novel writing at 30,000 feet.

What is the most extreme wedding you’ve ever heard of? Are you a fan of the traditional or extreme ‘I Do’?

(Remember to leave a comment to enter this week’s chocolate drawing.)

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

8 thoughts on “‘I Do’ At 30,000 Feet

  1. Michelle Weidenbenner says:

    I think my sixteen-year-olds favorite wedding venue will be in the show arena, at a barn, on a horse holding hands with her man. It’ll be a simple wedding without a lot of fuss because that’s who she is. And there will be no dancing–unless the horses do. The guests–cows, sheep, chickens, alpacas, dogs, cats and of course, horses.

    I’m excited to follow your posts, Michelle. I look forward to them.
    Write on!
    Michelle

    • Michelle Lim says:

      Michelle, I absolutely love that your daughter follows her own identity. What a great tribute to you as a mom that she is completely comfortable in her own skin. Fun ideas, too.

  2. Great post! Unfortunately, or maybe fortunately, I haven’t experience any wild weddings. lol. But I love the analogy!

  3. Teresa says:

    While I cannot think of a single clever wedding theme I have attended (yes my life is that dull); I love the writing concept. Nothing sparks my interest in a book more than an exciting locale, unique life adventures, weather disasters, realistic family drama/issues, or a quirky personality. That would be why we all love “Monk”.

  4. Erynn says:

    Yay! I’m excited about your new blog (AND your Rattler victory). Best of luck! Thanks for the awesome tips. I’m getting ready to start my second novel and I’m thinking about ways to raise the stakes–also finishing up Ronie Kendig’s Wolfsbane, and sweet mercy she does an AMAZING (infuriating) job of making it worse at every turn.
    I think the most unique wedding I ever attended took place on a small farm beside a creek, and the barefoot bride and groom left the ceremony in a wagon pulled by a tractor.

    • Michelle Lim says:

      I love it! Once I attended a wedding at a historical church in the country. Only twenty people could fit in the dinky structure, so most of us stood on the dirt road outside waiting for the grand exit. I’m so glad you could stop by. I look forward to hearing great things about your writing journey!

Leave a Reply

