Chocolate And The Writer’s Voice

Chocolate has inspired people all around the world. From truffles to chocolate-covered gummy bears, variety is the passion of critics and fans that keeps them coming back for more. I’m right there with the rest of them. Bring on the Ghirardelli’s chocolate with caramel and a glass of milk.

The writer’s voice and chocolate have a lot in common. They are both based on a strong consumer product that are loved by the masses. Chocolate and words. To be successful, you need to stand out among the wide range of choices. Individuality is built on nuance and balance of ingredients. It is what makes each writer unique and loved by a specific fan base.

Finding the writer’s voice is sometimes illusive. The subtle differences in Junior Mints and a New York Mint are more than shape and size. In the writer’s voice, pacing, word choice, sentence length, and sentence structure are all nuances that make it unique. Your voice has its own subtleties, you just need to learn to recognize them.

Flaunt your flavor. Read some of your rough draft out loud to yourself. Savor it’s ingredients as you would your favorite chocolate. Learn its rhythm to enhance your writing and avoid editing your voice out of final drafts.

Claim your flavor. Imitation will get you no where, except give recognition to the one you have emulated. Admire the famous novelists, study what they do that works, but find your own flare in applying it to your writing.

You are your own voice. You wouldn’t put a Hershey wrapper on an Almond Joy candy bar. It just doesn’t work. Wrap your words in your voice, a unique flavor all its own.

If your writer’s voice was chocolate, what flavor would it be? What flavor of chocolate is your favorite author’s voice?

(Leave your comment this week and be entered in a drawing for chocolate.)

About Michelle Lim

Author Michelle Lim is the Brainstorming/Huddle Coach with My Book Therapy Press and the Midwest Zone Director for American Christian Fiction Writers. Michelle’s romantic suspense is represented by Karen Solem of Spencillhill Associates and has gained contest recognition in the Frasier, the Genesis, and the Phoenix Rattler, winning the Genesis in 2015 for her genre. Michelle writes devotionals for The Christian Pulse Online Magazine and Putting On The New. Since her nonfiction book release, Idea Sparking: How To Brainstorm Conflict In Your Novel, through public speaking and online chats Michelle helps writers discover the revolutionary power of brainstorming to bring new life to their stories.

36 thoughts on “Chocolate And The Writer’s Voice

  1. Snickers Bar! That’s my voice! 🙂

  2. susie may says:

    Dark Chocolate. Frozen Chocoloate Chips, actually!! I love chocolate – and it helps when I plot! I am looking forward to your blog, Michelle! XO!

    • Michelle Lim says:

      You stash chocolate chips in your freezer, too! There is no wrong way to eat chocolate. That must have been what you were eating when you wrote, “Baby It’s Cold Outside.” Great, Great Read!

  3. Leanne Hardy says:

    My voice changes somewhat with the character and setting, but I think my current WIP (set in South Africa) is dark chocolate with a hint of coffee. Not too sweet, but trying not to be bitter. I’m going for something rich that stays on the tongue.

  4. Lisa Jordan says:

    Peanut butter cups, Peppermint Patties, and anything with caramel and nuts fill my happy place. Not sure what that says about my writer’s voice–I’m all over the place? Or I like to have fun with a serious side? Now I’m craving chocolate…

    Great post, Michelle. 😀

  5. mmgriep says:

    Dark chocolate with sea salt…sweet and sassy!

  6. Stacy says:

    Love the blog, Michelle!! You go, girl. I would say my writing is a Dove milk chocolate. (Okay, now I need a treat.)

  7. Melissa Tagg says:

    Pretzel M&Ms! ‘Cause I like to think of my voice as colorful and quirky. 🙂

  8. bethkvogt says:

    I’d have to go with a good old-fashioned 3 Musketeers bar — but it has to be soft, not all hard and stale.
    I’m pretty basic when it comes to chocolate and there’s not a alot of fluff to my writing voice, either. I think it’s all that journalism training — beat the adjectives right out of me.

    Love the new blog!

  9. Wow. This is my kind of post!! 🙂 I love Dove dark chocolate cinnamon dusted almonds. That’s my writing voice. Dark & semi-sweet covering over the meat of the story, with something special dusted on top. Yep. Maybe I just love to eat those so I’m trying to make that my signature writing chocolate. Whatever. They’re delicious! 🙂

  10. Awesome blog, Michelle! Kudos to you for getting it going & with such a fun post too!

    Let’s see, to describe my writer’s voice, I’d have to say walnuts smothered in smooth dark chocolate.

  11. jeannemt says:

    LOVE your blog, Michelle! This post is especially fun! My personal chocolate tastes range all over the place, from chocolate with mint, with peanut butter, with caramel, but maybe my writer’s voice could be defined with dark chocolate and raspberry mixed together in a truffle–some sweet, some tang, the taste staying for a little while.

    Looking forward to stopping by here more often! Added you to my favorites. 🙂

  12. If it’s chocolate, I love it, especially dark chocolate. Great job on your blog, Michelle. And I didn’t know anyone else froze their chocolate chips and ate them. lol

  13. Michelle,
    Lovely blog post. Great debut.
    Favorite.chocolate? Dove milk chocolate. Yum.

  14. Pamela Dowd says:

    Lovely debut, Michelle. I received a gift certificate from a dear friend from http://www.chocomize.com/ , a site where you can create your own chocolate bar. After much debate–the choices are abundantly tempting–I chose dark chocolate laced with orange peel and toffee. Yum. I savored that bar one tiny bite at a time. Like my writing–I take it one word at a time, debating and savoring as I go. Even when the words gush out, I go back and examine each one.

  15. Sandy Perez says:

    White chocolate with lots of almonds brings back wonderful childhood memories. Mom would stash the Fannie Farmer box away in her nightstand drawer, but usually by the time she’d have some, my four brothers and I snitched it all.
    These memories of taste, texture of the chocolate, and smell enriches my writings. So thanks Michelle for this.

  16. Great post, Michelle! Anything that has to do with chocolate is a win win 🙂 I love all types of chocolate, but for the sake of it, I’m going with Cadbury. But what you get in Egypt. Tastes completely different than the chocolate here. Quite delicious.
    And for the chocolate chips in the freezer, it must be a writers thing ’cause I do the same thing 🙂

    • Michelle Lim says:

      Egyptian chocolate is different…interesting. I bet that is true of other area’s of the world as well. Chocolate chips in the freezer is winning the chocolate war so far!

  17. Amy Hahn says:

    I just did a chocolate fountain with my confirmation kids last week…chocolate and fruit…yummy!
    Hooray on the blog launch…you are an inspiration!

  18. Mary Denman says:

    Single source dark chocolates….different countries produce different flavors. The darker, the better. I write medieval fantasy which is a different world, like the distinctly different flavors of single source chocolate. And the other would be dark chocolate with chili pepper……

Leave a Reply

