Wednesday Super Sleuth Challenge – The History Of Evidence

Photo by dimitri c

Photo by dimitri c

Hi, Super Sleuths! Before we do our Wednesday Super Sleuth Challenge, we must start by recognizing last month’s Super Sleuth of the month. This super sleuth answered our challenges 100% correct last month!

And the Super Sleuth of the month is...

 Jessica Patch

Want to learn more about our super sleuth of the month? Check out her blog at: http://www.jessicarpatch.com/

***

Our Wednesday Super Sleuth Challenge this week will count towards our August sleuth of the month. The person with the most correct answers this month will be sent the following gifts:

*A $10 Amazon Gift Card and a copy of Dangerous Passage by Lisa Harris:

Years ago it was much more common for individuals to be convicted of crimes they didn’t commit, or no perpetrator to be caught at all. Now, we have a wide range of forensic processes that focus on catching the right criminals as quickly as possible. I can’t even imagine what it must have been like all of those years ago before science played a role in crime stopping.

Forensics have come a long way throughout the history of crime solving and criminal trials. Just how much do you know about the history of forensics? How long have experts been solving crime with our current day methods? And where did they come up with these ideas to start with?

Let’s take a look back at the history books and see where it all began.

Which of the following forensic methods do you think was used first in an official manner?

A. Autopsies used to determine cause of death

B. Dental analysis and bite patterns used to identify a victim

C. Fingerprinting used as evidence in a crime

D. Footwear evidence used to identify the perpetrator

E. Handwriting Analysis

What is your answer? What forensic science do you find the most interesting?

10 thoughts on “Wednesday Super Sleuth Challenge – The History Of Evidence

  1. I think I read somewhere that the Chinese used fingerprints to identify letters over a thousand years ago. Of course, I could have misread, but I’m going to say fingerprints.

  2. dianekratz says:

    I’m going with handwriting. The way we are taught to write changes with each generation. The way a person makes a certain letter can be traced back to where it was taught. Handwriting also reveals personality traits of a the person who writes. Also, handwriting has been around longer and like a fingerprint, no two people write alike. Just guessing, but that’s what I think.

  3. dtopliff says:

    I know Harvey (or someone early) did autopsies to trace circulation of the blood. I look forward to these and today’s choices are all “thoughty thoughts” but I’ll go with autopsies.

  4. Kristen says:

    Well, I’m not going to win, since I’m not the first to give this answer, but I’m going with autopsies. I know I’ve read about them being used in the Roman Empire, and they were used pretty early in the U.S. at trials. I guess it depends on exactly what “official manner” is. :)

    • Michelle Lim says:

      It isn’t who answers first, but each time you get a correct answer this month your name is entered for a point. At the end of the month the one with the most correct answers wins. If it is a tie, there is a drawing. I’m so glad you’ve decided to leave a comment!

  5. I am going with the handwriting analysis. Just sounds old! Handwriting it is! Since I am in the dental field, I am most intrigued with the bite patterns. I thoroughly enjoy going to continuing ed for dental forensics. Fascinating. There is one in November that I am excited to attend at the U. Fun game Michelle.

Leave a Reply

